Aveeno sells several unscented or fragrance-free lotions that can look similar in a store. This toplist compares four options using official Aveeno product pages for product identity and formula specifications, and U.S. OTC Drug Facts labels published in DailyMed for active ingredients, labeled uses, directions, and warnings. No product was purchased, applied, or measured.
The comparison below is based only on published specifications. Where the supplied sources do not include an OTC label or active-ingredient listing, the gap is stated rather than filled with an inference.
Quick Comparison: Aveeno Unscented Lotion Options
The table compares source-supported specifications.
| Product | Official product page | OTC active ingredient | Selected inactive ingredients from DailyMed | Formulated without / label term | Labeled OTC uses, where available |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aveeno Skin Relief Moisturizing Lotion for Very Dry Skin | Aveeno Skin Relief product page | Dimethicone 1.2% (12 mg per 1 g) | Water, glycerin, petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, oatmeal, oat kernel oil, sodium chloride, shea butter | Fragrance-free; free of fragrance, parabens, dyes | Skin protectant; helps prevent and temporarily protect chafed, chapped, or cracked skin; helps prevent and protect from drying effects of wind and cold weather |
| Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Body Lotion with Soothing Oat | Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Body Lotion product page | Dimethicone 1.2% (12 mg per 1 g) | Water, glycerin, petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, oat, sodium chloride, benzyl alcohol | Fragrance-free; free of fragrance, parabens, dyes | Skin protectant; helps prevent and temporarily protect chafed, chapped, or cracked skin; helps prevent and protect from drying effects of wind and cold weather |
| Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Sheer Hydration Dry Skin Lotion | Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Sheer Hydration product page | Not listed on the linked page | Not provided in the supplied sources | Fragrance-free (page) | No OTC label included in the supplied sources |
| Aveeno Baby Daily Moisture Fragrance-Free Lotion | Aveeno Baby Daily Moisture product page | Dimethicone 1.2% (12 mg per 1 g) | Water, glycerin, petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, oat kernel flour, sodium chloride, allantoin | Fragrance-free; formulated without fragrance, parabens, phthalates, phenoxyethanol | Skin protectant; helps prevent and temporarily protect chafed, chapped, or cracked skin; helps prevent and protect from drying effects of wind and cold weather |
Aveeno Skin Relief Moisturizing Lotion for Very Dry Skin
The Aveeno Skin Relief Moisturizing Lotion for Very Dry Skin product page identifies this product as fragrance-free. The DailyMed label for Aveeno Skin Relief Moisturizing Fragrance Free lists dimethicone 1.2% as the active ingredient and its purpose as a skin protectant. The label’s uses are to help prevent and temporarily protect chafed, chapped, or cracked skin and to help prevent and protect from the drying effects of wind and cold weather. Directions are to apply as needed.
The same DailyMed label lists inactive ingredients including water, glycerin, distearyldimonium chloride, petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, oatmeal, benzyl alcohol, oat kernel oil, steareth-20, sodium chloride, and shea butter. The Aveeno product page states the lotion is free of fragrance, parabens, and dyes.
Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Body Lotion with Soothing Oat
The Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Body Lotion with Soothing Oat product page identifies this as a fragrance-free lotion. The DailyMed label for Aveeno Daily Moisturizing lotion lists dimethicone 1.2% as the active skin protectant. Its OTC uses are the same skin-protectant uses described above: help prevent and temporarily protect chafed, chapped, or cracked skin and help prevent and protect from the drying effects of wind and cold weather. Directions are to apply as needed.
The label lists inactive ingredients including water, glycerin, distearyldimonium chloride, petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, oat, benzyl alcohol, and sodium chloride. The Aveeno product page states the lotion is free of fragrance, parabens, and dyes.
Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Sheer Hydration Dry Skin Lotion
The Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Sheer Hydration Dry Skin Lotion product page identifies this as a fragrance-free oat body lotion. The supplied sources do not include a DailyMed OTC label for this product, and the linked page does not state a dimethicone percentage. For that reason, this guide does not describe Sheer Hydration as an OTC skin protectant or compare its active-ingredient concentration with the other products.
Its verified specification in this comparison is product identity as a fragrance-free Aveeno lotion. The product page also uses the term soothing oat, but no OTC active-ingredient listing is available in the supplied sources to support a skin-protectant claim.
Aveeno Baby Daily Moisture Fragrance-Free Lotion
The Aveeno Baby Daily Moisture Fragrance-Free Lotion product page identifies this as a fragrance-free baby lotion. The DailyMed label for Aveeno Baby Daily Moisture lotion lists dimethicone 1.2% as the active skin protectant. Its OTC uses are the same skin-protectant uses described above. Directions are to apply as needed.
The label lists inactive ingredients including water, glycerin, distearyldimonium chloride, petrolatum, isopropyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, oat kernel flour, benzyl alcohol, sodium chloride, and allantoin. The Aveeno product page states the lotion is formulated without fragrance, parabens, phthalates, and phenoxyethanol.
What the OTC Labels Confirm Across the Range
For the three products with supplied DailyMed labels, dimethicone is listed as the active ingredient at 1.2%. The OTC purpose is skin protectant. The labeled uses are limited to preventing and temporarily protecting chafed, chapped, or cracked skin and protecting from the drying effects of wind and cold weather. These labels do not establish that one Aveeno unscented lotion is more moisturizing or safer than another.
The same OTC labels include common safety directions: for external use only; do not get into eyes; stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens, if symptoms last more than seven days, or if symptoms clear up and occur again within a few days; do not use on deep or puncture wounds, animal bites, or serious burns; and keep out of reach of children. These warnings are part of the label information for the products that have OTC Drug Facts panels.
Selection Criteria and Source Support
Products were included when their official Aveeno pages identify them as fragrance-free and when they are lotion products. Active-ingredient and OTC-use details come from DailyMed labels when those labels are included in the supplied sources. Product identity, fragrance-free status, and “formulated without” lists come from the official Aveeno product pages.
How to Choose Among Aveeno Unscented Lotion Options
If you want an OTC skin protectant with a Drug Facts panel, check whether dimethicone 1.2% is listed as the active ingredient. Skin Relief, Daily Moisturizing, and Baby Daily Moisture each have supplied DailyMed labels with that active ingredient and the same labeled skin-protectant uses.
If you are comparing fragrance-free formulas, use the “formulated without” lists on the official pages. Skin Relief and Daily Moisturizing list fragrance, parabens, and dyes as excluded. Baby Daily Moisture lists fragrance, parabens, phthalates, and phenoxyethanol as excluded. These are formula-composition statements, not proof that a product cannot irritate skin.
Always check the current product label before buying. OTC labels, inactive ingredients, and packaging can change between versions.
FAQ: Aveeno Unscented Lotion
Are these Aveeno lotions fragrance-free?
Yes. The official Aveeno pages cited for each product identify them as fragrance-free. The DailyMed labels for Skin Relief and Daily Moisturizing also use the term fragrance-free in the label text.
Which Aveeno unscented lotions list dimethicone as an active ingredient?
The supplied DailyMed labels for Skin Relief Moisturizing Lotion, Daily Moisturizing Lotion, and Baby Daily Moisture Lotion list dimethicone 1.2% as the active skin protectant. The supplied Sheer Hydration product page does not state a dimethicone percentage, and no OTC label for that product is included in the supplied sources.
Can these body lotions be used on the face?
The OTC labels in this guide give directions to apply as needed and warn against getting the product into the eyes. They are not labeled as facial products. If you want a facial moisturizer, use a product specifically labeled for that use.
What should I do if a lotion irritates my skin?
Follow the OTC label directions: stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens, if symptoms last more than seven days, or if symptoms clear up and occur again within a few days. This article does not diagnose or treat any skin condition.
Conclusion
For an Aveeno unscented lotion, the published label specifications give a clear way to compare options without relying on claims of superiority. Skin Relief, Daily Moisturizing, and Baby Daily Moisture have supplied DailyMed OTC labels listing dimethicone 1.2% as a skin protectant with defined uses and warnings. Sheer Hydration is identified by its official page as a fragrance-free Aveeno oat body lotion, but the supplied evidence does not include an OTC active-ingredient listing. Check the current label for the product you are considering.